Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Hear me roar!

Ok, Thanks to Countess Kazz for the add in! Some questions to be answered!

What are you working on right now? Well, there are a few projects in the making. One is my annual Valentine’s Day Dinner, which I am really excited about. I’ve also got a few crafty things going – a photobook of Thandi’s second year, a cross stitch project I never finished in time for Christmas. Also working at getting fitter!

Where did the idea for this blog come from? I’ve always been a diarist (Dear Diary…), so it was a natural step into the digital world. I started initially as a way to keep in touch with far away friends, it evolved into a food and wine blog, into an infertility blog, and now a parenting blog.

What does your typical day look like? Generally Charlie and I are woken by Madam Thandipants at about 5h30. In the week, I get a little more of a lie in, while Charlie gets up, makes tea and breakfast ofr me. After a shower and all that jazz, I’m in the office at about 07h00, and then it’s work, work, work. I usually get home at about 17h00/17h30, will try to get some exercise in and have a bit of fun with Thandi, and then we couch/craft until about 22h00, when it’s bed time.

How do you bring ideas to life? Once I have an idea I start by doing a fair bit of internet research, pinning ideas to pinterest. I save sites and recipes and ideas, and slowly start to work on stuff. Case in point, my Valentine’s Dinner. I am in the ‘literature review’ phase currently. This weekend will see the experimenting begin, and crafty projects from there.

What’s one trend that really excites you? Umm… food? Be it new cooking styles and fashions, from slow food to Masterchef to LCHF eating. Dessert.

What’s the worst job you ever had and what did you learn from it? Yip, waitressing it was. It taught me I should rather be something else. It taught me to study harder at Med School!

If you were to start over, what would you do differently? I am one of those pathetic people, and probably say nothing? I love so mch about my life. I fantasize about being a plastic surgeon, but think I’d probably still choose OBGYN.

If you could change one thing in the world, what would it be, and how wold you go about it? What I’d like to see different in my world can be summed up in one word – RESPECT! I’d like everyone to have a little more self respect, and discipline, which means that we’d all respect one another a whole lot more, and I think our world would improve immeasurably. How do we get that right? I’m not sure – parenting techniques need to be taught, I think we need to focus on the home, and what happens there. We are ruining our children with a lack of discipline and by not teaching them self worth and value. We expect too much of our stretched school system. We demand so much in return for so little of ourselves.

I’d also really like my ‘u’ key to work properly. Time for a new computer!

Tell us a secret. Hmm.. tough one. I do vomit everything out to everyone, so have very few…

What are your 3 favourite online resources, and what do you love about them? Let’s see… I’m a social media junkie, but I’m trying to think laterally here… Pinterest is great when planning things – craft projects, dinner parties, houses, building etc… I se a medical resource called Up to Date, which offers info for doctors and patients in easy to understand terms. And any news websites – I love being p to date with news – twitter keeps me in the loop most often, and then I use that as a vehicle to access other sites.

What is the one book that you recommend people should read and why? This is a difficult one. We all have such different taste and ideas. I really think, as long as one is reading, that is good enough.

3 people we should follow on Twitter and why? Jonathon Witt – he’s clever and on the ball with matters medical; Gareth Cliff for his social commentary and Many Collins – she’s clever and funny and well entertaining. And she talks back!

When was the last time you laughed out lod? What caused it? My Thandigirl makes me laugh every day!

Who is your hero? Cheesy if I say my parents? And my Charlie? Different hero’s for different things, I guess. I am inspired by DrBU, a retired OBGYN, who until this year at 85 was assisting me regularly, physically and mentally fit and active, and a delightful and wise soul.

I nominate… umm, I’m so late to it, I think everyone must have done this one.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

