Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Searching for time

There are not enough hours in my day for all the things I’d like to do. Things that I find life giving and sustaining. I’m dying to just spend some time talking to my husband, baking more, playing more with Thandipants, reading, sewing, running… I’ve gone from wishing for an extra 6 hours a day, to hoping for 8… But alas, that isn’t going to happen. Unless I sleep even less than normal, which given that on an average night it is only about 5-6 hours that I do sleep, wouldn’t give me many more. Ai tog…

With this run up to Christmas now, things have been busy! Work has been hectic and I have really had to just reign myself in a little. Some of those homemade Christmas gifts are not going to happen in time; the house might not be as neat and tidy as it could be; my plans for the big event (Christmas Eve with all Charlie’s family and my parents at the beach house, since you were wondering) might not be as militarily planned as usual. (Sorry Nigella and Delia, my lists and timings haven’t been finalised!) And, I’m beginning to think that it might be ok… Sadly my running really has had to take a back seat, and that’s probably to my mental detriment, but I will pick it up again now that I have some breathing space. So really it might just be ok…

How do you all manage your time during this crazy season? I’m not a great delegator, maybe I should start? (Control freak in me is screaming hysterically right now!)

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

