Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Changing rooms

Catching up with the girls was good last night. Lots is happening in our lives – 1 couple has closed their restaurant, another’s husband has resigned and is starting a new venture, another is trying to buy a new home and start a new business, another is thinking about a career change, another is training like crazy for all sorts of physical challenges. It’s been a year of ch-ch-changes! Or impending changes. And isn’t it just luxurious almost, that we have this option? These moments to re-invent ourselves. What a privilege.

I recently declined an incredible work opportunity offered to me. It would have meant a move away from my home town, and while I would have probably earned substantially more, I couldn’t shake the idea that my personal quality of life was not going to improve; in fact it was probably going to deteriorate, and I was going to work harder and longer with less time for my Thandigirl and Charlie. Don’t get me wrong, I have a deep respect for my patients and my work, but I love my family more, and my girl needs a mom who she does see, even if it is only occasionally.

I got wondering last night, why are we all facing and many of us grabbing these opportunities to reinvent ourselves? Is it our age? Are we starting to become dissatisfied with our lot in life? Are we hitting the ‘Is this it?’ question? I wonder…

1 Comment»

  Chelsea’s Mom wrote @

SO glad you’re staying!


Leave a Reply

