Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Remembering others

The last few weeks I have been working on my Santa Shoebox project. For those of you who don’t know much about them, they are a charity that collects names and ages from less privileged schools and playschools and then asks for people to pledge boxes for these children. You simply go on line, identify which kids you’d like to give gifts to, and pledge. There are a few prerequisite items, but that actually helps to act as quite a nice guide and you can spend as much or as little as you want. Last year I chose 2 little girls, almost the same age as Thandi, so that we can grow these children with her. This year there were only boys a similar age to her, so I pledged 2 boys of 3 and then 2 older girls of 5. My aim is that this is something she and I will do together as she grows up, to allow her to count her blessings and share her bounty. It has been fun shopping, and I’ve probably spent more than I should have, but I keep thinking of these kids getting this as their possibly only gift. Lunch boxes, colouring books, stationary, puzzles, clothes, toiletries and toys. A big part of it for me is decorating the boxes. The boxes are meant to be a bit of a keepsake, so I go to town, hauling out my scrapbooking stuff and really personalising them. They aren’t finished yet, but I’ll post some pictures when I have completed them, I think they are looking quite special already!

So I pose the question today, what are you doing to remember others this year?

No comments yet»

Leave a comment