Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Thursday dinner

…with our new call system, we seem to be doing a lot more in the week kinda entertaining. I’ve just realised weekends are so busy, and a Thursday night dinner is actually very civilised! Friday mornings have certainly become rather less so though!

So last night we had some old friends over who we haven’t seen for an absolute age, and I think we had a great dinner, but then I’m biased! We started with the contemporary waldorff salad (I’ve made that a lot lately, it’s delicious though!), then it was onto one of Franck Dan*gereaux recipes, Curried fresh hake with Japanese mushrooms, garlic confit and beurre blanc. I failed to take a picture of my plate, but it did look pretty similar to the book – 20130920-074916.jpg It was totally delicious! I really was blown away. The only thing I’d change would be to use kingklip, not hake for a better texture. We finished the meal with lemon meringue mess and lemon macarons, which Charlie and I both love. Winewise, we drank Simonsig Tiara, a red blend, showee, divine at the time, not so cheery in the morning though! Anyway, it’ll make for an interesting Friday!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

