Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Hospital diaries

…despite being a doctor, I really dislike hospitals. I’m not scared of them like some people, but I dislike them. The atmosphere around them seems drained of air, and I always feel empty by the time I leave. Even more so when it is a visit to the ever depressing ICU, and mom is confsed and sedated. Hate those bloody places.

She has come through surgery well. The anaesthetic was fine, the surgery uncomplicated; but she’s an old, very frail lady, and medications knock her, being in a place that is always daytime disorientates her, and I just want to bring her home… But she isn’t ready for that yet. We are hoping that today she will leave the ICU for a general ward, and then her rehab begins, with physio and eating properly. I really can’t beleive we are doing this again… really can’t…

I’m also just struggling to accept how ‘on hold’ my life becomes – one weekend away cancelled, the next one (supposed to be heading to JHB to watch the Red Hot Chilli’s) in jeopardy, and, and, and… and that’s just selfish of me….

4 Comments»

  MJ wrote @

Flip, it is hard, hang in there.

  Renee wrote @

Hospitals do give you that feeling, but hand in there, mom will get stronger.
You and your family are in our prayers

  Leigh wrote @

So glad all ok. Lots of love to all of you, especially your mom xxx

  countesskaz wrote @

good luck for your moms recovery. am sure she’ll recover quickly and surprise you all.


Leave a Reply

