Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Living fully

…and in the moment – is something I spent a lot of time thinking about this weekend. My brother arrived rather unexpectedly (with 24 hours notice) on friday night to visit our parents. I have had lots of worries and concerns about our relationship, and this weekend, I threw caution to the wind, and was just me. No trying hard to be what I think they expect or want from me, just me. And it was good! We had some memorable times with them!

They arrived late on friday night (midnight) and promptly all fell into bed. I, of course, battled to sleep, and when Thandi surfaced at 05h00, was slightly less amused with life. Anyway, we cooked up a quick brekkie for them – delicious egg, bacon and sausage rolls – and then it was off to the folks for them and off to the shops for us. We spent the afternoon with ther folks, and after tea and cake, went home again – and off to Angel and her family for a special evening with them – we watched the rugby – not that it was worth watching, and then the boys cooked for us – they had been at the Cheflady fior a class last week, so we got to try the products of their learnings, and it was good a Jacvk Daniels glazed fillet, served with a salad and mash. Yum, Angel followed it with an amarula pudding, which was also delicious – all in all, a good night out. Thandi slept well again, until 05h00, asnd it was left to me to keep her amused and entertained until about 07h00, when I called it quits. After everone slowly rising, we headed off to a favourite breakfast spot for a bite to eat, and then home to prepare a curry feast for the evening. We started with Paneer fritters (indian cottage cheese, stuffed with a mix of herbs and spices, dipped in a batter and sprinkled with chaat masala (a mild ‘salad’ masala) -yummy!) And then mains were a creamy chicken masala and a Keralan black pepper lamb, served with lemon basmati rice and cumin potatoes. All seemed to go down well, and I thought it was very enjoyable. It was also just really special spending time together, as a family (as countess says) and as I emntioned, it got me thinking.

Actually, lots has got me thinking lately; Charlie’s dad is really not well, and has a rather awful diagnosis, for which, given his state of health, not much can be done; my mom is deteriorating rather fast and Charlie and I await our final IVF. And what really has hit home is that it is all too short, to hold grudges and heartaches. We do not know what tomorrow holds, we have to live in this moment, now today. For tomorrow we may die… So this weekend really was my wake up. Put away the hurts, pack away the baggage, and just LIVE! It is so much easier that way too… instead of hanging onto the agony, the origins of which you can hardly remember.

So there we go, my just past winter solstice resolution – LIVE!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

