Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Days of my days

…working, working, working is what lies ahead for next 3 months. Looking at my diary and my booked antenatal patients, I am doing 25-30% more work than last year which is just a little scary. August looks like it will be my busiest month ever, from a delivery point of view. That makes me a little nervous, but I know I can get through it. The only thing that worries me is how long I will be able to sustain at this pace; currently I have no holiday or leave planned and it’s getting me a bit down that I am working so hard, with no reward on the horizon. Or do you think I should be looking at that planned retirement at 50, which is only in 13 years and 3 weeks time now? Oy!

In other news, my Dawny is looking ok. Physically she is still very weak, and I don’t think we will ever get back to where we were before the fracture, but a friendly physio is going to come to the house tomorrow morning and assess her, so at least I will have a better idea about her capabilities and her prognosis. From a mood point of view, she is very labile, and has days plunging into the depths of despair, where Dad and I have to be the cheerleaders, and give her pep talks and motivational quotes, but then there are days like yesterday when I see my old Dawny there, happy and easy going (albeit a tad frustrated).

Anyway, lets get some work done today, after a busy day yesterday, with 4 babies(!!!!) I hope today is a bit kinder.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

