Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Making Dawny’s day

…after watching her start to pine away, and sink deeper and deeper into the darkness, we have decided that Dawny should come home. Friday will mark 4 weeks since her fall and hip fracture, and it has been almost 4 weeks, therefore, since she last saw home. Shame, my poor little mom, to see her looking so small and lost and sad… we’re really hoping that getting her home will brighten her up a bit. For me, despite that huge heart operation 4 and a half years ago, this has been a far starker reminder of her mortality, and that it is probably nearby and I should begin to steel myself for that. Seeing her so very helpless, who was once so strong and feisty, has been very hard, and I fully understand her wanting to be at home, away from nurses and other very frail reminders of her own mortality. I also appreciate quite how hard this is going to be for my father and I, trying to get her rehabilitated at home… Saying all that, seeing her perk p last night when she realised that we weren’t going to fight to keep her in the frail care, made it worthwhile… We’re looking at getting a home carer for her, a few days of the week, and I have insisted that she has to spend a day or 2 a week at my home, with Nox and Thandi, and no stairs! It’s going to be a rough one, but we will get there. Tonight I will have to prepare some meals for them, so that I at least know she’s getting some good nourishment. She’s become a reluctant eater these days, cajoling, threatening and begging her to eat aren’t fun. Let’s hope work gives me that chance.

3 Comments»

  countesskaz wrote @

Good luck with your Moms convalescence. I’m sure your Dad will appreciate the help. Not an easy time that you’re going through.

  Jacqui wrote @

Thinking of you birdie! I am sure your home cooking will be incentive to eat!

  the aunty formerly known as donz wrote @

very cool she’s coming home, sure she’ll start feeling better with her family and her things around her. lots of love babe, 🙂


Leave a Reply

