Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Rediscovering books

…wow, wow, wow, I have so missed reading. The last little while I have been in such conflict between my Kindle and paper books, and what has happened is that I have had 1 or 2 paper books on the go, which I just haven’t enjoyed reading – too difficult to hold, finding places, different fonts and type sizing –  and while I have had them, out of a strange sense of loyalty, I haven’t ‘allowed’ myself to read on my Kindle. And what that means is that effectively I haven’t read much in the last 6 weeks or even more – won’t read the Kindle, but can’t read the paper books.  And my life has been poorer – I love reading, I really do, it’s a great escape. But last week I allowed myself to read a Kindle book, and now I am onto my fourth in about 10 days – I had forgotten what a pleasure it is. Better than any movie or TV series, I have relaxed and retreated… What have I been reading – well, I have finally got stuck into The H*unger Gam*es – wowee – completely grippng. Its the first in a Trilogy – I am currently busy on number 3, and I have to say, I am completely absorbed by this story – set in a post apocolyptic America, where big brother does more than just watch you; slightly sci-fi-ish, which is really not my scene, but, man, I haven’t been able to put this series down.

So aside from reading this weekend, there was some working (only 1 baby for the weekend), some visiting of Dawny (shame, a very sad and dejected Dawny, who really seems to be losing the will to fight on…very hard to see, and I feel so helpless about it) and a baby shower/luncheon for my friends W&R, who are expecting a little girl after 2 boys (great excitement). And now a week ahead, with lots of work to do…

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

