Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Where’s that bunny?

You know, easter has come and gone, and it was rather a non event in the Birdie household. (although I did eat a lot of chocolate) Thankfully Thandi is too small to know about Easter eggs and hunts, I didn’t do all my usual baking and cooking, and I must say I am feeling rather ‘moedeloos’.

My mom is out of hospital, in the frail care section at one of the local homes, she is recovering very slowly, and with the long weekend, had no physio unfortunately, and is really battling with getting mobile, and also emotionally with everything that has happened to her in the last little while. I think she fears that she will never get better… I am starting to really struggle with being her cheerleader, and my dad’s. While I understand some of the recovery dynamics, it has been so hard visiting 3 times a day, seeing her frail and frustrated and scared; seeing my dad trying his utmost to cheer her up and get her motivated with ideas of holidays and visits to family – all his dreams for retirement, which aren’t really hers… and meantime, I’m missing my Charlie, I feel like a very part time wife; and even more of a part time mom to that precious little Thandi.

The weekend was quiet, between hospital visits we had a birthday party for my god daughter – I delivered her, and she just turned 7! How did that happen? Where did the time go? It was good to catch up with her and her family – her mom and I have known each other since we were 5, so its been a while! Thandi had a playdate with sisters, Chloe and Ella, which went well, she was very contant to watch the 2 bigger girls play and dance. Too sweet! Thandi also had a visit with her other Granny and Grumpa, so lots of visits for her! It hasn’t been easy taking her to visit Dawny at the frail care, her room is small, and she is quite squirmy, which scares Dawny. Anyway, the visits do cheer her up!

Food wise, I made some ‘healthy-ish’ chocolate squares for the birthday party (thanks JBT for the idea), a bar one cheesecake for easter pudding, delicious slow roasted lamb shanks and a beef and beer pie at various points this weekend – yum! But cooking in a rsh is very frustrating to me, and everything seemed rushed this weekend.

Anyway, my week (and on call weekend) await me, best I get moving!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

