Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Here we go again…

I always feel a bit like the condemned man on a monday morning, when I have the comning weekend on call, walking into the hospital, knowing that for the next 12 days I am it, horrible feeling. Anyway… not much I can do about it, but get on with it.

I had a mixed weekend this past one. I wasn’t on call, but one of my patients was labouring on friday, and my promise to my patients is that if they are in labour on a fridy that I am not on call, I will stay on duty until they are delivered. I was shattered after a very long week and all I really needed to do was collapse at home, switch off and give that little girl of mine some momma lovin’, but no, I had to stay alert and available. At about 19h00, I examined the patient, realised we weren’t making sufficient progress despite augmentintation and an epidural and explained why a caesar was necessary, the patient and her husband however asked for more time, (bearing in mind that they had been labouring since 04h00), fortunately for them, there was a delay in theatre; she was checked again an hour later, and I was told she had made some progress, so we let her continue, and 2 hours later, when she had stalled again, they finally agreed to the caesar, so at 23h45, I finally did the caesar I had called at 19h00… Turns out the patient had called someone else for an opinion at 19h00, clearly not trusting my judgement or believing my assessment… wow, talk about a slap in the face… so in essence, friday was a right off for me, an evening I didn’t get to spend with my Thandi and Charlie, all for a patient who no longer trusts me…

Saturday we ran a few chores, did a bit of shopping and chilled with Thandi girl. Charlie dispatched me for a snooze, I was getting a bit crotchety… and saturday evening we had dinner with L and her husband – a chilled relaxed, talk lots of nonsense kinda evening – divine, just what I needed! And yesterday, after a mediocre night of sleep, I managed a slow 5km run and then we celebrated Charlie’s uncle’s birthday and proceeded to chillax for the rest of the day. Nice!

And now the week stretches ahead of me…

2 Comments»

  the aunty formerly known as donz wrote @

translate ‘a bit crotchety’ into ‘crazy knife wielding lunatic’?? i would not have been zen with such ridiculous patient behavior!!

  charliesbird wrote @

Thanks, you make me sound quite human! Hehe!


Leave a Reply

