Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Friday

…is almost here! Its been a busy week, lots of work (fortunately during working hours) and the trainer and I are starting to push in the gym, and on the runs. I am starting to get a little anxious, having entered the Knysna half marathon, I need to get my fitness and endurance up. So yesterday we did 5.5km on the treadmill, which might not sound like much, but I promise is an achievement in stategies in surviving boredom. It might help if they played something other than techno on the sound systems, like the news or chat, or other musak; or if there was something vaguely interesting screened on the televisions in the gym (what makes them think that everybody there is keen on bodybuilding and old sporting events?) But hey, it is clean and cool in this particular gym, so I won’t winge too much. Anyway, after my push, and some weight training, I am feeling a little sore this morning, and after date night with Charlie, my head is a little sore too. Yes, last night Charlie and I caught up over a lovely meal at a little bistro tucked in a little lane. I haven’t downloaded the pictures of our delicios meal yet, so apologies, but we shared a goats cheese and sundried tomato tart to start, I had kingklip, with a chorizo and pea rissotto, and we shared a decadent chocolate cake with caramalized pineapple for dessert, washed down with an old favourite, Beyerskloof Pinotage. (admittedly not very diet friendly!) And it was lovely to reconnect with my husband…we spoke about the year ahead and made some tentative plans, good times! Anyway, let the working day begin!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

