Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Shrove Tuesday

..has arrived, which means Lent is upon us! No, I’m not Catholic, but I appreciate the symbolism of 40 days of sacrifice, culminating in Easter’s extravagance. That said, I’m not sure what I am quitting this year? Brussel Sprouts? Cabbage? I’ll probably quit chocolate (like I usually do, but I might have to make a few exceptions) Anyway, there is still time to decide. Tonight we are off to the pancake evening at church, with my bible study. The tradition behind pancakes on Shrove Tuesday comes from households using up all the ‘nice’ ingredients in their pantry before the fast began, not quite sure why that amounted to pancakes, but hey, I am useless at making them, so I will gladly eat them when someone else has made them! A dusting of cinnamon sugar and a squeeze of lemon, and we’re on our way!

3 Comments»

  the aunty formerly known as donz wrote @

I was always in awe of your chocolate embargo, what self control! I’m giving up TV this year, proviso that DVD’s are ok because they impy planning and some degree of mindfulness, instead of the switch- on- and- see- what’s- on thing, which is a huge time- waster in my life!
Enjoy the pancakes babe 🙂

  charliesbird wrote @

Did I mention before, you NEED DSTV?

  the aunty formerly known as donz wrote @

chuckle, I know it’s not really the point of lent, but I’m using that as a carrot for the lenten fast 🙂


Leave a Reply

