Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

let the scale speak

….hmmm, this diet and exercise lark is hard! My goodness! It’s been 3 weeks now of almost perfect behaviour, a smidgen of wine has really been my only cheat, and while I am happy with the loss I have seen, I’d have loved it to be more.

Dietwise, I have bran flakes, fruit and yoghurt for breakfast, sometimes dring my morning I’ll have some fruit, lunch has been strictly salad, with occasional tuna added (no dressings/mayo). Dring the afternoon, there has been no time and no apetite for anything, and for supper its been protein and a salad of some sort or occasional veggies. Once we had sushi.

Exercise has been enthusiastic. Training with Gusto 3 times a week, and these sessions involve a 20 minute run, some core, some light weights (very light, and not every session) and then another 10 minutes of extra cardio, be it a run, a cycle or the elliptical machine. Over and above that I try to get 1-2 extra sessions a week in myself, either on the road or the treadmill. So I certainly am putting in the effort.

So since I had my suppressor injection, things have slowed rather rapidly, I know it’ll be water retention and all that, but I am also experiencing a very painful left knee, which I can only really attribute to the side effects of the meds, man, last night it kept me awake and I am needing anti inflammatories to get through the day, its blimmin’ sore! And I have to have some drugs before I hit the gym, and I know that isn’t ideal. I’m hoping when I re-introduce the hormones I will feel a little better, but, who knows?

Saying all this, it boils down to my frustration at the scale’s report, yes, if you look at my fatness file I am 4 kgs down in 3 weeks, which is great, but given the sacrifices, I would love it to be more… Patience, Birdy, slow and steady wins the day…

2 Comments»

  Renee wrote @

Remember excercise also builds
muscle so I think you have done
well – keep it up!!

  drhf wrote @

Bump up the protein! Add the tuna everyday or chicken breast. I never believed it but it does work. You feel much less hungry come the end of the day! I start craving my protein now!!


Leave a Reply

